Apiales Symposium

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that the Apiales IX Symposium will be held from 31 July 20 to 2 August 2017 at the Hotel & Conference Centre of the Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou, China. This meeting will continue the series of very successful gatherings in Reading (1970), Perpignan (1977), St. Louis (1999), Pretoria (2003), Vienna (2005), Moscow (2008), Sydney (2011) and Istanbul (2014), where students of this interesting group of plants had the opportunity to share results of recent studies. As with the previous symposia, the meeting in Guangzhou will focus on all research fields relating to the systematics and phylogeny of Apiales (including morphology, anatomy, biogeography, floristics, palaeobotany, etc.). Although other subjects are beyond the main scope, we encourage specialists in ecology, ethnobotany, pharmaceutical and natural products research etc. to participate as well.

The Apiales IX Symposium will be held directly after the XIX International Botanical Congress (IBC, 23-29 July 2017, Shenzhen, China). As Guangzhou is not far from Shenzhen, you can easily combine participation in both meetings during your stay in China. However, the Apiales IX Symposium is not a part of the IBC program.

Both oral presentations and posters are welcome at the Apiales IX Symposium. After the meeting in Guangzhou, a post-conference tour to Mt. Danxiashan, a UNESCO World Natural Heritage site, will be organized.

Dr. Alexei Oskolski
Chairmen of the Organizing Committee

Organizing Committee:

  • Chairmen: Alexei Oskolski (Johannesburg – St. Petersburg)
  • Vice-Chairman: Maxim Nuraliev (Moscow)

Scientific Committee:

  • Yousef Ajanii (Tehran)
  • Emine Alkalin (Istanbul)
  • Stephen Downie (Urbana)
  • Murray Henwood (Sydney)
  • Neriman Özhatay (Istanbul)
  • Alexei Oskolski (Johannesburg – St.Petersburg)
  • Tatiana A. Ostroumova (Moscow)
  • Michael G. Pimenov (Moscow)
  • Gregory Plunkett (New York)
  • Mark Schlessman (Poughkeepsie)
  • Krzysztof Spalik (Warsaw)
  • Patricia Tilney (Johannesburg)
  • Ben-Erik van Wyk (Johannesburg)